This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting

Finish home-baked cakes with this fluffy, ready-to-use chocolate frosting from Ad Hoc, a casual Napa Valley eatery headed by award-winning chef Thomas Keller. Made with high-quality ingredients like premium Guittard chocolate and Nielsen-Massey vanilla, the frosting has freshly whipped flavor and a dense, velvety texture for easy, even spreading. Frosts a single 9" x 13" sheet cake, a 9" double-layer cake or 30 cupcakes (1 lb., 8 oz.). Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
4 of 10(40%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DPierce
,Houston
,TX
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Will not buy it again...
June 23, 2012
Totally disappointed. Thought this would save time, ended up waste of money, strange taste!!!!
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purple
,Brighton
,CO
Brighton, CO
January 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Disappointed in This from Thomas Keller!
January 23, 2012
I did not like this at all - I put this on the Ad Hoc cupcakes (which are delicious) and was very disappointed in the taste of the frosting, has an "off" taste.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sherrymil
chicago suburb
Posted January 6, 2013
Top 100 Contributor
I Agree
I tried the dark chocolate frosting also. No body liked it and everyone thought it had an "off" taste.
Not worth the money-even on sale at half price!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ALHTX
Irving, TX
April 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very disappointing
April 21, 2011
I was honestly shocked at how bad the milk chocolate frosting was! Normally the food products from W-S are amazing, but I was extremely disappointed with the frosting and ended up throwing the jar away. I had a few other people try it in case they wanted to use it and I had no takers, what a shame!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grammyrena
Walkertown NC
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
terrible dark chocolate
June 25, 2010
Milk chocolate was good. Dark chocolate was awful. I had to scrape it off of cake and re-ice it because no one would eat it.
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JordenK
Tempe, AZ
March 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome frosting from a jar
March 21, 2010
I just attended a baking techniques class yesterday at my local W-S store and they featured the new Ad Hoc products. I was floored by how delicious they were and needless to say bought several to bring home. A standout was this frosting which I didn't think I would love so much considering I'm a dark chocolate fanatic. This frosting was rich without being overly heavy and was clearly very easy for our instructor to work with. Highly recommend you try this for your next quick frosting endeavor.
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BP1230
CT
March 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Superb!
March 13, 2010
I made the Ad Hoc Chocolate Cake with this frosting for a dinner party dessert. The batter was very thin and I was worried about what the finished cake would turn out like, since I only had a few hours before the guests arrived. Well - the cake was everything it promised to be. Delicious, moist and decadent. The mix and the frosting are pricey, but they easily compare to fine bakery quality that would surely cost that much or more. Thanks to Ad Hoc and Williams-Sonoma for outstanding mixes!
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yenmor
California
March 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very, very good tasting.
March 8, 2010
I bought the milk chocolate frosting. I would have to say it is one of the best tasting frosting that I have had. It taste much better than anything you can get out of a can from the grocery store. I would stay it even tasted better than what I have tasted from most bakeries. I did not find it too sweet even though it did contain corn syrup.
It only gets 4 stars because of the price. Because of the price, I am not sure I will be buying it again.
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Oklahoma
February 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
So Bizarre...
February 24, 2010
I purchased the dark chocolate frosting and there wasn't any corn syrup listed in the ingredients.... not sure what the other reviewer is referring to. The ingredients on my jar listed Cream, Chocolate Liquor, Sugar, Butter & Vanilla, THAT'S IT. My Mother in law and I LOVED it, and neither of us are chocolate fans. We don't eat any unnatural ingredients in our house and usually eat organically, so I obviously checked out the ingredient list before bringing it home and feeding it to my children. Corn Syrup is a no-no in our house.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
djasonw
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posted March 7, 2011
There is corn syrup
A review of the ingredients listed on this website does show that the product contains corn syrup. There is nothing wrong with corn syrup but it is indeed an ingredient in the product.
0points
Customer avatar
djasonw
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posted March 7, 2011
Corn Syrup
Contrary to what the media would lead you to believe there is nothing wrong with corn syrup. Please tell the readers here what is so wrong with having corn syrup as an ingredient in a product that requires sweetening.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MSUSpartansFan
East Lansing, MI
February 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Too good to even put on cake!
February 24, 2010
Don't let the pig on the jar fool you, this stuff is DELICIOUS!!! I had the dark chocolate frosting and I think I might buy a jar just to eat by the spoonful. It can be a little thick so if you have a delicate cake make sure the cake has cooled completely. If you love dark chocolate you will love this!
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Chocolate Frosting
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wsparks
Murrieta, ca
February 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
5of 13found this review helpful.
I paind that much for corn syrup?!
February 22, 2010
I purchased this item along with the Ad Hoc cake mix, to make a cake for my birthday. The cake mix was awful and this frosting was truly "icing on the cake". Totally unspreadable and far too sweet. I looked at the ingredient list after I brought it home and discovered that I had spent that much on frosting that contained corn syrup. Having made several homemade frostings, I have never used corn syrup and never will. I tried spreading it on the cake and it was so thick that it broke the cake apart. Simply awful.