Ad Hoc Cake Mix

Whip up a classic home-baked cake with our mixes from Ad Hoc, a Napa Valley eatery headed by award-winning chef Thomas Keller. Made with high-quality ingredients like Guittard chocolate and Nielsen-Massey vanilla, the cakes bake up tender and moist, with a delicate crumb and fresh-from-scratch flavor. Finish your cake with one of our Ad Hoc frostings (sold separately) or a homemade buttercream or cream cheese frosting. Yellow, 1 lb., 8 oz.; Chocolate 1 lb., 12 oz.; Red Velvet, 1 lb., 11 oz. Each makes one 9" x 13" sheet cake, a 9" double-layer cake or 24 cupcakes. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.397 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
35 of 58(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
Review 1 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MollyBean
,Brooklyn
,NY
August 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Phenomenal
August 23, 2013
Used the chocolate mix as a sheet cake--it was a huge success. All of the guests (but me) are gluten eaters, but they were uniformly delighted with the cake. It is expensive, but a good splurge for a special occasion. Otherwise, I think I would just use the Bob's Red Mill chocolate cake mix, which is also very good and a fraction of the price.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 2 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,alameda
,ca
June 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Go-To party cake
June 18, 2013
This is a great cake mix for any size cake. I have made it as a sheet cake, round cake and cupcake. All have turned out moist and delicious. The texture and flavor are very nice. I am frequently asked for the recipe and many are surprised when I say it is a mix. The only thing I change is the quantity of powdered sugar in the frosting. I like mine sweeter and just keep adding the sugar to taste.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 3 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kandel
April 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Flavorless and Dry
April 7, 2013
This mix makes a very good looking cake. I am sure the product buyer at Williams-Sonoma thought so to, only they forgot to taste it. Medium dry texture and absolutely no flavor despite is rather high-end item requirements. Wave to the box as you pass it by on the shelf.
I am really surprised chef Thomas Keller put this out and said ..PERFECT, FABULOUS!! Far from it. I will go on an assumption and speculate some other company in the background approached him and bought his branding for this product.
Pros: looks nice
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 4 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cvhicago
,Chicago
,IL
April 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Greasy, Bland Red Velvet
April 1, 2013
I was very disappointed with the completed Red Velvet Cake. I am an experienced home baker and have often made cakes from scratch but decided to try this gourmet brand to save time and cut down on the number of ingredients I would need on hand.
The main letdown was the amount of oil called for in the recipe overwhelmed the other textures and flavors. The final cakes, while moist rather than dry, were downright greasy. It was difficult to taste any of the supposedly high quality ingredients through the vegetable oil.
On the pro side it made an attractive cake with a deep red color, was not too sweet, was easy to work with and didn't stick to the pans at all. But all of that was overwhelmed by the fact that I spent the time and money making a cake that I felt I needed to qualify and apologize for when I shared it.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 5 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lobin918
,Chicago
,Il
December 18, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best gluten free red velvet
December 18, 2012
I brought this for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone was surprise that is was gluten-free. The cake was moist and soft. I used vanilla icey with this cake mix. The vanillia top was not too sweet which made the entire cake perfect. Highly recommend it for those that are on a gluten free kick.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 6 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
curveball
,Plano
,TX
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
overpriced and terrible
November 26, 2012
I bought this cake mix along with the frosting thinking it would be leaps and bounds above a traditional cake mix. Boy was I wrong. Not only is it not good, but you're required to use buttermilk, butter AND oil, as well as EIGHT eggs! I followed the directions to a tee, and the cake was dry and lacking flavor. The dark chocolate frosting was far too bitter. So save yourself twenty dollars and go to your local grocery store and buy a normal cake mix, and normal frosting. Your tastebuds and your wallet will thank you.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor, price
Review 7 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEgirl
,dallas
,tx
Dallas , TX
October 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cake mix ever!
October 1, 2012
This is the best cake mix I have ever tried! You could use this easy peasy mix and pass off your cake or cupcakes like you made them from scratch !
Most cake mixes have a certain taste so you can tell its a mix - this mix was amazing
Deep, rich chocolaty flavor - I am stocking up on this mix with the holidays coming :) !
I am now going to try the other flavors as well
Hands down worth every penny!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 8 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChocolateLoverMarie
,DC Metro Area
,DC
September 17, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Truly Amazing!
September 17, 2012
I have recently discovered that I have a gluten sensitivity that causes inflammation in my joints. I have been searching for delicious options for gluten free chocolate treats and have found very few that are not a compromise.
I tried the gluten free chocolate cake mix and was skeptical even up to the point of putting it in the oven because the batter looks so strange compared to past cake batters I have made.
I was SO happy when I took them out of the oven. They smelled amazing and they were light and fluffy. I made a vanilla frosting for them and they were SO wonderful! They do not taste in any way gluten free so I felt for the first time ever that I was not having to compromise taste for a great chocolate treat!
I will definitely be buying this again!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, great gluten free treat!
Review 9 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
celiacmom2
,berkeley
,ca
April 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
for the gluten sensitve
April 29, 2012
My son has celiac disease and gluten makes him very sick. We got this cake mix to bake for my mom's birthday. Just wanted to point out to others who might be as sensitive, that although the mix says it's gluten free, one of the ingredients you're supposed to add, white vinegar, almost always does contain gluten, so use a substitute if you plan to make this for someone with serious gluten issues!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Great Gift
Cons: Ingredients
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Jenn74
Forked River, NJ
Posted November 11, 2012
White Vinegar is GF
I was diagnosed with Celiac and have been GF over 7 years. Almost all distilled vinegars are gluten free, including white. The only exception is Malt Vinegar which is made from barley. And yes, shouldn't this review be on the GF version of the cake mix? BTW, I have made the GF version and it is perfect and I had no side effects.
0points
Customer avatar
Bryndis
NJ
Posted July 1, 2012
Gluten Free...?
This brand makes a gluten-free variety of the mix, but this specific listing is for the normal version. Mistake in review perhaps?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Choclit
,Madison
,WI
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Chocolate Cake, Weird Chocolate Frosting!
April 9, 2012
I wish I had read the reviews before I made this cake. The chocolate cake is very easy to make and was moist and very tasty and I will definitely make it again. Since you add boiling water to the cake mix to dissolve the cocoa powder in the mix it is very liquid but cooks fine and ends up very moist (tip: use a kitchen scale to make sure the cake pans have the same amount of batter).
On the other hand, the dark chocolate frosting has a very strange flavor that I didn't like and I am throwing the cake out as a result. When I make this again I will use a homemade mocha buttercream frosting instead.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: smell, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 11 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JNash
,Nashville
,TN
March 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive and too sweeeeeeet!
March 29, 2012
I bought this cake mix for my son's birthday. Although the texture was great, the cake was just too sweet to be enjoyed. I ended up throwing out the entire cake and I am a self-described sweet tooth!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Flavor
Review 12 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MrCrocker
,Lewiston
,NY
November 13, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Make it From Scratch!
November 13, 2011
I bought this mix on sale, and I should have read the ingredient list. The yellow "cake mix" is essentially flour, baking powder, vanilla and sugar. When I factor in the cost of the ingredients I had to add (8 eggs, buttermilk, butter, oil and frosting) I STILL would have been better off BUYING a cake at a good bakery.
The only time-saving feature of this cake mix is that the dry ingredients are pre-measured.
In the end, the cake was only so-so. I haven't baked or tried the other cakes in this line, but the yellow cake is definitely a disappointment.
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Time to Prepare, Flavor, Cost
Review 13 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cjseidman
,MA
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
If it's dry you did it wrong!
October 24, 2011
My very first review ever! After reading a review that complained this cake was dry I just had to say...NO WAY! I have baked this cake at least 10 times and it was perfect each time. Best cake mix ever!
Just sayin :)
Review 14 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MJB1104
Manila
September 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best cakes minus the hassle
September 4, 2011
I have never been a cake mix fan but since it was from Thomas Keller, it was definitely worth a try. It was such a pleasant surprise!!! Easy to make and delicious --- we just love it!!!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 15 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Vala
Pasadena, MD
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ad Hoc Dark Chocolate Frosting
August 25, 2011
The frosting consistency was very good and there was and adequate amount to purchase a 9" layer cake. However, I was very disappointed in the taste. It maybe that my husband and I don't have a taste for the particular chocolate used in this frosting. It has a peculiar taste to us. My hubby, who is not a picky eater, did not like it at all. He doesn't believe in throwing food out so he told me to freeze it in pieces. So I guess he plans to eat it when he wants a piece of cake and there is not any in the house. If you buy this product just be aware that it has a very different chocolate taste.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality
Cons: Disappointing, very different chocolate flavor
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
CherylBB
Hollywood, FL
Posted January 26, 2012
Strong Liquer taste
I think this frosting will not appeal to all tastebuds. If you look at the ingredients, there is no chocolate but rather chocolate liquer. When my mother tasted one of the cupcakes I frosted with this frosting, she thought that there was something "spoiled" in the ingredients and cautioned everyone not to eat it. To me, this frosting tastes like the filling for some truffles. If you plan to buy it just realize that it is not a classic chocolate frosting taste.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SHS619
Miami
August 25, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excitement turned to disappointment
August 25, 2011
Totally disappointed. I have eaten at many of Keller's restaurants so I was excited to try this mix. Followed the instructions perfectly. Unfortunately, it was dry. We threw away over half a cake. What a disappointment.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 17 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatJS
August 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly delicious chocolate
August 2, 2011
I never use cake mixes, but received the chocolate flavor as a hostess gift. Due to the connection to Thomas Keller I thought it was worth a try, but didn't expect it to exceed a homemade cake. I was pleasantly surprised. It was very moist, rich and had a delicious chocolate flavor. I am confused by the reviewers who found it otherwise. I followed the directions exactly. I made my own sour cream frosting which complemented it well. Would highly recommend.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
il978
Caifornia
July 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst cake ever!!!!!
July 13, 2011
I am so glad I bought this on sale because I would have been very angry paying the $14 not to mention the cost of the other ingredients. It was flavorless dry mess. My husbands who usually will eat anything couldn't even finish the piece I gave him, the only good thing he had to say was about the frosting which I made myself (chocolate buttercream). Would not recommend this to anyone!!!!
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 19 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gsca
California
July 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Frosting is horrible
July 3, 2011
Having made cakes for years (even for friends' weddings), I was excited to try the Ad Hoc line. I purchased the yellow cake and dark chocolate frosting and used it for a special occasion. The yellow cake seemed moist and had decent flavor. The dark chocolate frosting was a different story. A taste out of the jar made me think it was out of date or spoiled, it wasn't. Instead, the liqueur flavor was so pronounced that it overwhelmed any resemblance of decent chocolate flavor. Attempts to lighten the flavor with sour cream and powered sugar didn't help. Most of it, sadly, went into the garbage.
Review 20 for Ad Hoc Cake Mix
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kathie423
Shelby Township, MI
June 3, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
expensive disappointment
June 3, 2011
I recently baked the yellow cake mix and was totally underwhelmed. At $14 for the mix, plus the the expense of the butter and 8 eggs I expected better.
Luckily, I gave most away the first day because two days later it was dry. Their chocolate frosting was better but I will stick to making my own next time instead.
Cons: Disappointing, $$$
page1 2 3 next