Acorn Twine Holder

Borrowing the autumnal shape of an acorn, our Italian-made polished alder-wood holder keeps twine handy for kitchen and household tasks. It comes with a ball of sturdy cotton twine that won't char in a hot oven. Locking system keeps holder securely shut. Includes 76 yards of twine. An inner catch stops twine from falling back inside holder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
20 of 25(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Acorn Twine Holder
Review 1 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JenniBee
,Concord
,NC
August 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
CHARMING TWINE HOLDER
August 28, 2013
I've owned and used the WS Acorn Twine Holder for many years. The challenge was that WS didn't stock replacement twine for a number of those years, a source of frustration to many. That oversight has been remedied and last month I purchased 3 replacement twine spools, plenty of twine to fill my adorable acorn for the foreseeable future. I think this acorn twine holder is charming, functional, a great way to store twine and looks awesome out on the counter as well! We use the twine regularly for beef, chicken and fish.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 2 for Acorn Twine Holder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Luckyette
,Senoia
,GA
October 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible Design
October 17, 2012
I broke down and bought this only because they were out of single packs of kitchen twine. It was impossible to work with. The string kept getting caught up and taking the lid off was almost as difficult. Very poorly put together and definitely not worth the money.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 3 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robininno
March 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nifty gadget!
March 14, 2012
Love this little twine holder ... and it looks great on my countertop!
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 4 for Acorn Twine Holder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
wsmyfavorite
,Hollister
,CA
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love, but...
January 7, 2012
After wanting this for a long time, I caved & bought it. It is a great item, but I have two suggestions. 1) It should have a weighted bottom . 2)A rubber gasket to hold the top in place when extracting the twine.
I put a rubber band around the bottom-half to hold the lid on when pulling twine. The weighted bottom would assist in the one hand extraction.
Pros: Quality, Size
Cons: Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChefPingu
Iowa
Posted January 14, 2014
Thanks
You answered my exact question. I wondered if it was weighted, seems like a bit trouble to manage otherwise. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Acorn Twine Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChiCare
,Chicago
,IL
Chicago, IL
October 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can not pull twine out from the top
October 27, 2011
I love my twine holder. The one thing that is a wee bit annoying is that I can not pull the twine out from the top of the hole. I have to unscrew it to get the twine to give me some slack. It is nice to have it in the acorn container especially while cooking. I don't have to worry about me contaminating the twine while cooking with chicken/turkey juice. You will be happy you purchased this.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 6 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PatsyK
Pennsylvania
February 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Acorn Twine Holder is a great help.
February 7, 2011
I don't know why I waited so long to purchase the Acron Twine Holder. It made making chicken rollups fun. I was finished so quickly. The Acorn Twine Holder is beautiful and the twine is of superior quality. I love it! I should have bought it ten years ago. I would have saved myself much aggravation.
Review 7 for Acorn Twine Holder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pugdaddy
Pemroke Pines, FL
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Item...but
January 18, 2011
I loved my twine holder, that is until the twine ran out. W-S does not carry the replacement twine and I searched the internet but I coulf not find a ball of twine that would fit. I'm sorry but $26.00 is a little over the top for one ball of twine.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChiCare
Chicago, IL
Posted October 27, 2011
They do carry it -see link below! :)
http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/linen-butchers-twine/?pkey=e%7Ctwine%7C2%7Cbest%7C0%7C1%7C24%7C%7C2&cm_src=PRODUCTSEARCH||NoFacet-_-NoFacet-_-Feature_Recipe_Rule-_-
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DYoungman
Tyler, Texas
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice Addition
January 5, 2011
I used to keep my twine in a plastic zip lock bag, love the acorn very cute and solid.
Review 9 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trog
Ann Arbor, MI
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Acorn Collectors
December 28, 2010
My wife loves it and it has a prominent place in our kitchen.
Review 10 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoriC
Northern Plains
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
handy dandy !
September 20, 2010
I highly recommend this twine holder. It looks cute on a shelf and serves a useful purpose in the kitchen or elsewhere. It is well made and charming. I recommend purchasing a twine refill so you don't run out !
Review 11 for Acorn Twine Holder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Saracen
September 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need refills for the acorn twin holder
September 8, 2010
I've too have had this product for a few years and have been looking for twine that will fit into the acorn; but, to no avail. I love the product but have been frustrated for a year waiting for Williams Sonoma to provide a refill. Unfortunately, now I need to turn elsewhere for my twine. The holidays are nearing and I need to be prepared. The beautiful Acorn is useless without the refill.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
JoeZ
Posted November 26, 2010
The Walnut Creek Store needs some of that Linen Butcher's Twine, sku #838128 refill also. Please let me know when they have a twine refill so I can go in and then perhaps purchase something else also. Thank you. Posted at 11/26/10
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Acorn Twine Holder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CookPro
Orange County, CA
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality is really BAD!
February 16, 2010
The accorn was of poor quality. The base was not flat and the accorn rocked when placed on the counter surface. It also did not have any twine in it. The wood on top had a huge black stain on it. A second accorn was delivered and it was no different. I would rate this item a huge "ZERO"!
Review 13 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Riachelle
Johnson City, TN
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorative and useful
January 9, 2010
I try to only leave things on my kitchen counter that are useful and used regularly. It is such a pleasure when something is useful and beautiful as well.
I thought the acorn would be threaded and unscrew, but it is instead notched on one side and has two tiny knobs on the other. You match up the two parts and twist. This makes it easier to take apart. If it were threaded, the wood could swell and wedge the acorn shut. You just need to reach inside the ball of twine and get the string started, and guide it through the hole in the top. A sticky pad inside helps guide the twine. Clean twine for cooking in a beautiful presentation.
Review 14 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
janmcdub
Sparta, NJ
January 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Need REFILLS
January 9, 2010
I've had this a few years and have been looking for linen twine that will fit into the acorn; but, to no avail. Williams Sonoma needs to have refills for this fine product.
Review 15 for Acorn Twine Holder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phil7256
New York
December 14, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not of Good Quality
December 14, 2009
As a frequent Williams Sonoma customer, I am surprised by the shoddiness of this product. I cannot recommend it to anyone.
Review 16 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShelleyJ
Santa Clarita, CA
November 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great - love it!
November 27, 2009
I never have kitchen twine at hand....I put it in the gadget drawer and can never find it. When I do, it's not fit for food any longer. This is the best!! I used it tons this Thanksgiving and everytime I needed it, there it was.....Perfect. I am using Julia Childs' cookbook so much lately and it's Tie this up and Tie that up...this is going to come in handy!! The workmanship on the acorn is beautiful !!
Review 17 for Acorn Twine Holder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NMKim
Veguita, NM
November 25, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
cute and functional
November 25, 2009
I rarely buy cute kitchen things because I don't like clutter on the counter. But I needed twine to wrap chickens for the new vertical rotisserie. I love this little thing. Husband didn't know what it was. Sometimes the twine gets tangled, but it's easy to open and untangle.
Review 18 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAT1
Mokena, IL
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
String Holder
November 2, 2009
When I saw the Acorn Twine Holder I knew I needed it. I use twine when I make chickens on the grill and I never seem to find it. When I do find it, it is knotted and difficult to get apart. Now I just pull the amount i need, tie up my chicken legs and wings and grill my chicken. It is a great gadget.
Review 19 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
luv2cookout
Ontario, Canada
October 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works well
October 21, 2009
I had been wanting this for some time ...i wasnt disappointed...the string holds well till cooking is completed and the acorn looks so festive on my kitchen countertop!
Review 20 for Acorn Twine Holder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
geegee
New York
May 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2nd purchase
May 13, 2009
This is without a doubt the most wonderful gadget for your kitchen. This is my second purchase within one year. Stupidly, I had it sitting on my counter, too close to the stove top, and it scorched it pretty far down (no fire!) -
I immediately purchased a new one. They are so useful for many kitchen duties from tying up roasts to recycled papers, to whatever you might need string for. And adorable looking on your counter (but not too close to the stove please!)
page1 2 next