Absolu Flatware Place Settings

The French have a flair for sophisticated simplicity, and this flatware is no exception. Crafted with impeccable attention to detail, each piece is polished cutlery grade stainless steel. With the metal's nickel content enhancing its luster, this composition most closely approximates silver-plated flatware - but will never tarnish. A place setting includes an 8" dinner fork, 7" salad fork, 9" dinner knife, 8" soup spoon and 7" teaspoon. Dishwasher safe. The 20-piece set includes four place settings. Made in France. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
25 of 29(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
Review 1 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TXforever
,Houston
,TX
June 8, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice and shiny
June 8, 2013
Single guy living in Texas bought 8pc place setting - FANTASTIC quality!!!! People crying about the size of the spoons -blahhhh in TX we expect to have good portions so our eating tools have to be able to handle the job. My guests have never complained, I will never change from Absolu - thanks Williams-Sonoma!!!!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Appearance, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
akjt
,Tampa
,FL
June 7, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful flatware
June 7, 2013
This flatware has great balance, is quite lovely, and has great style. Highly recommended for quality and look.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Balance, Easy to Clean, Size, Appearance, Versatile, Weight
Review 3 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
January 19, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good looking but....
January 19, 2013
I bought 12 place settings just before the holidays. I like everything about them but the spoons. As other reviewers have commented, they are very large. I'll get used to them I suppose, but I should have paid more attention when I was choosing these. My fault.
Look at the spoons carefully before buying, if you don't mind the size than everything else about the Absolu set is fine.
Cons: spoons are fred flintstone sized
Review 4 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weybridge1
,Saratoga Springs
,NY
August 24, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
classic clean lines and durable
August 24, 2012
I've had a set of Absolu flatware for about 17 years. With a family of 6, it's been put to a lot of use. I have to say, it's stood the test of time and still looks fantastic. I just ordered a few new place settings (as some of my pieces have disappeared!) I'm so glad that this classic, elegant line is available at Williams Sonoma.
Review 5 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DaMan
,Woodstock
,MD
August 8, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quite Nice
August 8, 2012
This flatware has a nice "feel" and is heavy, sturdy, and looks good also. Very pleased - so far - with the product.
Cons: it does tend to spot some out of the dishwasher
Review 6 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wolfe
,Granite Bay
,CA
June 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
June 4, 2012
I loved the look and the feel of the flatware so I was very diappointed when after a few washings the knives began to rust. My last flatware set (which I had for almost 20 years) held up beautifully so I was shocked at the poor quality of this set, not only for the price that I paid but I also expected better quality from Williams Sonoma.
Cons: poor quality
Review 7 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Manthatcooks
,Virginia Beach
,VA
February 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exceptional Quality, Poor Design
February 23, 2012
As a single male, I purchased a starter set approximately 5 years ago. I had no serious expectations of the flatware other than to get food from point A to point B. But, as I entertained over the years, the universal comments I received were "the spoons, the spoons and the spoons". Almost everyone said the soup spoon was exceptionally large - almost the size of a typical serving spoon; and the teaspoon was too large to use as a normal teaspoon and too small to be used as a tablespoon. Now that I have married, my wife insists that utinsels should not only transport food from A to B, but also to allow one to accomplish this with a certain amount of grace. She feels that the spoon sizes interfere with that objective and refuses to even use the set. We both agree that this flatware is exceptionally attractive, well made and appropriate for casual or more formal table settings. If the spoons were redesigned, this would be an almost perfect pattern choice.
Cons: Design, Size
Review 8 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
retired09
,Iowa City
,IA
Iowa City, IA
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice stuff
January 11, 2012
This stainless is very shiny and could easily be mistaken for silver. I love the size of the pieces except for the soup spoon which is really huge. But I've been using the soup spoon as a serving spoon and one can't ever have enough of those!
This is really beautiful stuff. I'm happy I bought it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 9 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MichelleOSUNursing
,Yukon
,OK
December 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolu flatware with teenagers
December 25, 2011
I love the flatware,and have owned for years. It has held up incredibly well and still looks as great as the day we bought it. However, I bought a set of 12 and some of the forks have disappeared (probably taken with foods the kids have taken in their car and husband has taken with lunch). I would love to be able to replace single pieces to complete my full set, but am not able to buy them individually.
Pros: Durable, Texture, Personalization, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Parhelian
Litchfield, CT
Posted April 24, 2012
Agree!
Please please start offering this flatware as open stock! I find myself suddenly missing several forks, and I need them to make place settings.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KDKim
,Lake George
,NY
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love these
December 23, 2011
Love these! Extremely pleased with the silverware. Ours from our wedding set and magically dwindled down to three spoons after twenty years and three kids. Looked for a quality replacement & this was it! So glad we did!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Strength, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NanaLily
Watertown,Ma.
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-8points
1of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Purchased as a gift
September 5, 2011
I purchashed 2 place settings of the Absolu pattern as a gift as it was on the bride's registry I was shocked when the store member brought it out to me .The presentation of it looked like it came from a discount store. Each piece is in a plastic sleeve and then the setting is in a little slip in box.. I was amazed at how inexpensive it looked. The pattern is pretty but the presentation is terrible especially given as a gift. They did try to make me happy by putting them in a gift box and gift wrapping it.
Review 12 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
donnamom
Montecito, Ca.
August 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Flatware!
August 29, 2011
I love the weight of this Absolu flatware! I have a houseful of boys/men and they like substantial utensils. It is also very lovely to look at and goes wonderfully with my French decor.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength, Design, Weight
Review 13 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PGRB
CHICAGO
July 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolu place settings
July 8, 2011
Absolu flatware is really nice, but somewhat mismatched. The knives are much sharper than they appear. The spoons are ridiculously large for the place setting. There should be a smaller spoon. The forks are a nice size. All flatware has a solid weight and after multiple washings, still looks great. We are not paying attention to the warnings of washing it alone, and it still shines. We really like the look, feel and the quality.
Pros: Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Design, Weight
Cons: Size, spoons too large
Review 14 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greybush
Paso Robles Ca
March 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ws Flatware
March 23, 2011
Really like - good steel, good feel. good looks, lots of compliments, very nice balance, gonna get more.
Review 15 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hugh
Atlanta, GA
July 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good purchase
July 30, 2010
As adverised, durable, attractive and well manufactured. I am very pleased with the purchase.
Review 16 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alox
Louisville, KY
March 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I like them...
March 9, 2010
Well, I like Absolu; I must, as I have ordered some more.
I started with the 20 piece package and have upgraded to service for 12. This is my everyday set. I am disappointed that there are not more serving pieces. Honestly, how often do you use the gravy ladle? The set might feel a teensy lightweight to me. I justified this because I have been using some old silverplate set that I was sick of polishing!
Review 17 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueeyes46
Fishkill, NY
February 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and elegant
February 4, 2010
Very nice to hold, shines like 100% silver, yet a convenience of stainless still. "Absolu" is a fitting name because it's absolutely gorgeous.
Review 18 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gws85
Califorina
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Teaspoon Too Large
January 23, 2010
The set is nice and we like but would not recommend unless a smaller teaspoon is offered. The teaspoon measures out as two teaspoons and is much too large for use as a normal teaspoon.
Review 19 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHcomp5
Westminster, CA.
July 24, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Well made
July 24, 2009
Nicely balanced, beautiful shine and design. Well made, heavy Stainless steel. I've since returned and ordered additional pieces.
Review 20 for Absolu Flatware Place Settings
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aicirtap
Nantucket, Mass.
June 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
attractive flatware
June 6, 2009
The flatware that I purchased for my daughter & her husband arrived just in time for Christmas , was very much appreciated and was beautifully wrapped for the occasion.
Good service ---- all around.
page1 2 next